Simon Sargon :: Opera, Musical Theatre & TV :: The Singing Violin (1995)

The Singing Violin (1995)

The Singing Violin (1995)
Libretto by Sally M. Gall and the composer. Originally a full-length operetta with chamber ensemble, the composer compressed the work to make it more useful for teaching and programming. Dedicated to Bonnie, in place of little animals.

Cast: Leila (soprano); Susanna, Leila's half sister (soprano); Katia, Leila's half sister (mezzo-soprano); Lavuta, a woodsman (tenor); Baron Frederick, the father (baritone). The gypsy-mother role is non-speaking and is very effective as a dance role.

Settings for the scenes are Frederick's home, a hill in a nearby forest, and the forest.

Full length version premiered at Southern Methodist University in Dallas, Texas in 1995. The one-act version was paired with The Story of Rapunzel (see catalogue # OMT 108) for a program of one-acts in May of 2006 to enthusiastic audience response.

Duration: 65"
Publisher: SAS
Language: English

Reviews: Available
Our price: $40.00

Copyright Simon Sargon 2010. All rights reserved.